Créer un site internet

 

Reggae instrumental 260x300

 

Sans titre  28  25  24  23  22

21  20  19  18  15  13

12  11  10  9 1  8 1  7 1

6 1  5 1  4 1  3 1  Histoire du Reggae  Histoire du Reggae

 

Reggae Legend

Reggae was launched in Jamaica in the late 1960s in a context of strong competition among small music producers.
It is the fruit of many encounters and crossbreeding: evolution of ska then rocksteady, it finds its roots in the rhythms and white colonial music that we played slaves (polka, mazurka, scottish, quadrille but also musics of military types with fifes and drums), the cultural and musical forms of the 19th century such as Kumina, Junkanoo (en) or Revival Zion which translate into traditional Caribbean music (mento then calypso), but is also very influenced by Rhythm and blues, jazz and soul music (American music was very popular in Jamaica at the time).

To these influences is added those of African music, the Rasta movement and Nyabinghi songs, which use drums derived from Afro-Jamaican Buru ceremonies.

Sans titre  28  25  24  23  22

This interbreeding will not stop there: nowadays, many styles are inspired, integrate or take up the reggae style around the world. Reggae is now universal music, as its main ambassador, Bob Marley, wished.

The term appeared in 1968 in Jamaica, but its origin is controversial. It could come from the Jamaican English word, “streggae”, which indicates a poorly dressed or under-dressed person, and from there, prostitutes11; this word would have been modified by a Jamaican radio station at the time.

This etymology is also provided by the great reggae producer Bunny Lee who explains it to the musician and musicologist specialist of Jamaica Bruno Blum in the film Get Up Stand Up, the history of reggae, specifying that the radios had not liked the derogatory word "streggae".

During the winter of 1968, the measured Rocksteady rhythm gave way to a faster, more playful, more dancing sound.

21  20  19  18  15  13

Reggae was born. Toots (Toots Hibbert) announced this new sound with the precursor title Do the Reggay, a complex monster with groove advertising “the new dance that was spreading in the city.” Toots wanted to “do Reggae, with you!”
From 1969 to 1971 Toots could not go wrong when recording for Leslie Kong. With the Beverley’s All-Stars (Jackie Jackson, Winston Wright, Hux Brown, Rad Bryan, Paul Douglas and Winston Grennan), a constant core of musicians and the brilliant harmony of the Maytals, Toots wrote and sang in his inimitable voice on every conceivable voice.

12  11  10  9 1  8 1  7 1

Lovers rock, launched in London in the mid-1970s, defines a soft reggae, with a less marked rhythm, which speaks of love and sentimental situations and is opposed in this way to reggae roots. It has become synonymous with "romantic" reggae, the most representative Jamaican figures of which are Gregory Isaacs, John Holt, Dennis Brown and Freddie McGregor.

The Skinhead reggae differs from rocksteady by a faster tempo, an often doubled organ skank and a funk influence in the bass playing while the drums marked the third beat with a measure of four beats, like the rocksteady (in ska, it was the second and fourth beat)

The New roots (year 1995) marks the beginning of the "new-roots" wave started the previous year by the death of singer Garnett Silk.

In terms of texts, the new roots, also called dancehall roots, indicates the return of the fashion for conscious and "cultural" texts (less present since the second half of the 1980s where the most prominent texts often dealt with ambiguous firearms or sex) in Jamaican reggae, under the revival of Rasta influence.

6 1  5 1  4 1  3 1  Histoire du Reggae  Histoire du Reggae

Early Reggae  ·  Lovers rock   ·   New roots   ·   One-drop   ·   Skinhead reggae   ·   

Ragga   ·   Reggae fusion   ·   Reggae rock   ·   Rocksteady   ·  

Roots reggae   ·   Rub-a-dub

_________________

  • No ratings yet - be the first to rate this.

Add a comment

Reggae instrumental 260x300

Sans titre  28  25  24  23  22

21  20  19  18  15  13

12  11  10  9 1  8 1  7 1

6 1  5 1  4 1  3 1  Histoire du Reggae  Histoire du Reggae

Légende du Reggae

Le reggae est lancé en Jamaïque à la fin des années 1960 dans un contexte de forte émulation entre petits producteurs de musique.

Il est le fruit de nombreuses rencontres et de métissages : évolution du ska puis du rocksteady, il trouve ses racines dans les rythmes et musiques blanches coloniales qu'on faisait jouer aux esclaves (polka, mazurka, scottish, quadrille mais aussi musiques de types militaires avec fifres et tambours), les formes culturelles et musicales du XIXe siècle comme le Kumina, le Junkanoo (en) ou le Revival Zion qui se traduisent dans les musiques traditionnelles caribéennes (mento puis calypso), mais est aussi très influencé par le Rhythm and blues, le jazz et la soul music (la musique américaine est alors très en vogue en Jamaïque).

Sans titre  28  25  24  23  22

A ces influences s'ajoute celles de musiques africaines, du mouvement rasta et des chants nyabinghi, qui utilisent les tambours dérivés des cérémonies Buru afro-jamaïcaines.

Ce métissage ne s'arrêtera pas là : de nos jours, nombre de styles s'inspirent, intègrent ou reprennent le style reggae de par le monde. Le reggae est maintenant une musique universelle, comme le souhaita son principal ambassadeur, Bob Marley.

Le terme apparaît en 1968 en Jamaïque, mais son origine est controversée. Il pourrait venir du mot d'anglais jamaïcain, « streggae », qui désigne une personne mal ou trop peu habillée, et de là, les prostituées11 ; ce mot aurait été modifié par une radio jamaïcaine de l'époque.

21  20  19  18  15  13

Cette étymologie est également fournie par le grand producteur de reggae Bunny Lee qui l'explique au musicien et musicologue spécialiste de la Jamaïque Bruno Blum dans le film Get Up Stand Up, l'histoire du reggae, précisant que les radios n'avaient pas aimé le mot péjoratif « streggae ».

Pendant l’hiver 1968, le rythme Rocksteady mesuré a laissé place à un son plus rapide, plus enjoué, plus dansant.

Le reggae était né. Toots (Toots Hibbert) annonça ce nouveau son avec le titre précurseur Do the Reggay, monstre complexe avec du groove faisant la publicité de “la nouvelle danse qui se répandait en ville.” Toots voulait “faire du Reggae, avec vous !”

De 1969 à 1971 Toots ne pouvait pas se tromper en enregistrant pour Leslie Kong. Avec les Beverley’s All-Stars (Jackie Jackson, Winston Wright, Hux Brown, Rad Bryan, Paul Douglas et Winston Grennan), noyau de musiciens constant et la brillante harmonie des Maytals, Toots écrivit et chanta de son inimitable voix sur tous les sujets imaginables

12  11  10  9 1  8 1  7 1

Le Lovers rock, lancée à Londres au milieu des années 1970, définit un reggae doux, au rythme moins marqué, qui parle d’amour et de situations sentimentales et s’oppose en cela au reggae roots. Il est devenu synonyme du reggae « romantique » dont les figures jamaïcaines les plus représentatives sont Gregory Isaacs, John Holt, Dennis Brown et Freddie McGregor

Le Skinhead reggae se démarque du rocksteady par un tempo plus rapide, un skank à l’orgue souvent doublé et une influence funk dans le jeu de basse alors que la batterie marquait le troisième temps d’une mesure de quatre temps, à la façon du rocksteady (dans le ska, il s’agissait des deuxième et quatrième temps)

Le New roots (année 1995) marque le début de la vague « new-roots » amorcée l'année précédente par la mort du chanteur Garnett Silk. Sur le plan des textes, le new roots, aussi appelé dancehall roots, désigne le retour de la mode des textes conscients et « culturels » (moins présents depuis la seconde moitié des années 1980 où les textes les plus mis en avant traitaient souvent de manière ambiguë d'armes à feu ou de sexe) dans le reggae jamaïcain, sous le renouveau de l'influence rasta.

6 1  5 1  4 1  3 1  Histoire du Reggae  Histoire du Reggae

Early Reggae  ·  Lovers rock   ·   New roots   ·   One-drop   ·   Skinhead reggae   ·   

Ragga   ·   Reggae fusion   ·   Reggae rock   ·   Rocksteady   ·  

Roots reggae   ·   Rub-a-dub

_________________

  • Aucune note. Soyez le premier à attribuer une note !

Ajouter un commentaire